Pakistani schools

On Friday I made the last mark on the tally chart next to my desk, ending the count down to the Easter holidays. To celebrate I decided to remind myself what a tree looks like, and left my flat in the centre of town for a break in the countryside. Catching a taxi to the train station, I had a very entertaining conversation with a Pakistani driver.

According to the Pakistani kids at my school, this driver would qualify as ‘fresh’, a term given to recent arrivals to the city’s Pakistani community, short for ‘fresh off the boat’. Once in the taxi, he asked me what my job was. On hearing I was a history teacher, he responded ‘Good. Good. Respectable profession’. I warmed to him instantly.

He then started to tell me how teachers are different in Pakistan, to those in England. He said that when a group of pupils see their teacher in Pakistan, they instantly start to behave: ‘teacher is coming, teacher is coming!’ He impersonated. Not so in England though, ‘English children are very cheeky to teachers’ he observed. ‘Don’t I know it’ was my response.

I asked the taxi driver whether he had children, and he told me that he had two boys currently attending the local school. This was said with some regret, so I asked him whether he is pleased with life in England. ‘I want my boys to grow up in England’ he responded, ‘but I want them to go to school in Pakistan.’

I told him I entirely understood, and added that by the sounds of it I would probably prefer to teach in Pakistan as well.

~ by goodbyemisterhunter on April 2, 2012.

One Response to “Pakistani schools”

  1. I once pointed at a very hi tech but abysmal mainly Asian secondary school to a so calle ‘freshy’ from Bangladesh and asked how this school would afer back home. The very nice young man told me that the well known East London school would be almost worshiped and people would be fighting to get in unlike this one with high rates of truancy

Leave a Reply

 
